calibre 内容服务器

calibre菜单“内容服务器”允许您访问您的calibre书库,并直接在您喜爱的手机或平板电脑设备上的浏览器中阅读书籍。因此,您无需在手机上安装任何专用的图书阅读/管理应用程序。只需使用浏览器。服务器将您正在阅读的书籍下载并存储在离线缓存中,这样即使在没有互联网连接的情况下也可以阅读。

要启动服务器,请单击“连接/共享”按钮,然后选择“启动内容服务器”。您可能会收到来自计算机防火墙或防病毒程序的消息,询问是否可以允许访问“calible.exe”。单击“允许”或“确定”按钮。然后在电脑中打开浏览器(最好是Chrome或Firefox),输入以下地址:

http://127.0.0.1:8080

这将在浏览器中打开一个页面,向您显示您的calibre书库,单击任意一个书库并浏览其中的书籍。单击一本书,它将向您显示有关该书的所有元数据,以及菜单按钮“阅读书籍”和“下载书籍”。单击菜单“阅读书籍”按钮开始阅读书籍。

备注

上面使用的地址“http://127.0.0.1:8080”只能在运行calibre的计算机上工作。从其他计算机/手机/平板电脑等访问服务器。您将需要做更多的工作,如下一节所述。

从其他设备访问内容服务器

您通常需要两种类型的远程设备访问。第一种,更简单的是来自家庭网络。如果您在家庭网络上的计算机上运行calibre,并且您还将其他设备连接到了同一家庭网络,那么您应该能够轻松访问这些设备上的服务器。

从家庭网络上的设备访问服务器

按照上述方式启动服务器后,再次单击菜单“连接/共享”按钮。您应该看到的不是菜单“启动内容服务器”操作,而是菜单“停止内容服务器”动作。此操作的右侧将列出一个IP地址和端口号。这些看起来像是一堆用句点分隔的数字。例如:

Stop Content server [192.168.1.5, port 8080]

这些数字告诉您使用哪个地址连接到设备中的服务器。按照上面的示例,地址变为:

http://192.168.1.5:8080

地址的第一部分总是“http://”,下一部分是IP地址,它是逗号前的数字,最后我们有了端口号,它必须用冒号(“:”)添加到IP地址中。如果你幸运的话,这应该是你所需要的,你会在你的设备上查看calibre书库。如果没有,请继续阅读。

家庭网络连接故障排除

如果无法从设备访问服务器,请尝试以下步骤:

  1. 通过打开网址检查服务器是否正在运行``http://127.0.0.1:8080``在与服务器运行在同一台计算机上的浏览器中。

  2. 检查您的防火墙/防病毒是否允许连接到端口“8080”上的计算机和calibre程序。消除防火墙/防病毒作为问题根源的最简单方法是暂时关闭它们,然后尝试连接。在关闭防火墙之前,您应该先断开与互联网的连接,以确保计算机的安全。

  3. 请检查您的设备和计算机是否位于同一网络上。这意味着它们都应该连接到同一个无线路由器。特别地,两者都不应该使用蜂窝网络或ISP提供的直接WiFi连接。

  4. 如果您的网络设置不标准,可能是菜单:“连接/共享”菜单上显示的IP地址不正确。在这种情况下,你必须自己找出正确的IP地址。不幸的是,考虑到网络配置的无限多样性,不可能为您提供这样做的路线图。

  5. 如果您已经设置了用户名和密码,请先在没有设置用户名和密码的情况下进行尝试,看看是否会导致问题。一些电子墨水设备的浏览器不处理身份验证。您有时可以通过在URL中包含用户名和密码来解决此问题,例如:“http://username:password@192.168.1.2:8080”。

  6. 如果你陷入困境,你可以随时在“calibre用户论坛”_上寻求帮助。

从互联网上任何地方访问服务器

警告

在此之前,您应该在服务器中打开用户名/密码保护,否则世界上的任何人都可以访问您的书籍。转到菜单“首选项”->“共享”->“通过网络共享”,并启用菜单选项“访问内容服务器需要用户名和密码”。

虽然设置互联网访问的具体细节因网络配置和您使用的计算机类型而异,但基本模式如下。

  1. 找出要运行服务器的计算机的外部IP地址。您可以访问“我的IP地址是什么”网站<https://www.whatismyip.com/>`_在计算机上运行的浏览器中。

  2. 如果计算机位于路由器后面,请启用路由器上的端口转发,以将端口“8080”(或您选择在其上运行calibre内容服务器的任何端口)转发到计算机。

  3. 确保calibre服务器可以通过您计算机上的任何防火墙/防病毒程序。

  4. 现在,您应该能够使用第一步中找到的IP地址访问任何联网设备上的服务器。例如,如果您找到的IP地址为“123.123.123.123”,而您用于calibre服务器的端口为“8080”,则在您的设备上使用的地址变为:http://123.123.123.123:8080

  5. 或者,使用`no-ip<https://www.noip.com/free>`_这样的服务来设置一个易于记忆的地址,以代替您在第一步中找到的IP地址。

备注

为了获得最大的安全性,您还应该在内容服务器上启用HTTPS。您可以直接在服务器中执行此操作,方法是提供HTTPS证书的路径以在服务器的高级配置选项中使用,也可以按如下所述设置反向代理以使用现有的HTTPS设置。

服务器接口界面

服务器接口界面是主程序calibre接口的简化版本,针对触摸屏进行了优化。主屏幕显示您当前正在阅读的书籍,并允许您选择要浏览的calibre书库。高质量的服务器可以让你访问所有的calibre书库,而不是像以前那样只访问一个calibre书库。

书籍列表

服务器图书列表是一个简单的封面网格。点击封面可查看书籍的详细元数据,或阅读书籍。如果您喜欢更详细的列表,可以通过单击右上角的三个垂直点来更改默认视图。

Calibre的用户应该熟悉书目的排序和搜索。可以通过单击右上角区域中的图标来访问它们。他们的工作方式与主程序calibre完全相同。搜索页面甚至允许您通过点击作者/标签等来构建搜索查询。就像在主程序calibre中使用标签浏览器一样。

主程序的一个备受喜爱的功能是:“虚拟书库”也出现在服务器界面中。单击右上角的三个垂直点以选择虚拟书库。

电子书阅读人

你可以阅读你的书库里的任何一本书,只需点击它,然后点击菜单“阅读书籍”按钮。电子书阅读人操作起来很简单。您可以点击和滑动翻页。上下滑动可在章节之间跳过。点击屏幕的上四分之一可以获得详细的控件和查看器偏好。

如果你让内容服务器继续运行,你甚至可以在多个设备上打开同一本书,它会记住你上次阅读的位置。如果没有,您可以通过点击上方四分之一区域并选择菜单:“同步”来强制同步。

浏览器支持

新版本的calibre服务器充分利用了高级HTML5和CSS 3功能。因此,它需要使用最新的浏览器。它已经在Android Chrome和iOS Safari以及桌面上的Chrome和Firefox上进行了测试。

服务器正在谨慎使用已经标准化或正在进行标准化上的功能。因此,如果它目前无法正常与您喜爱的浏览器使用,那么一旦该浏览器功能赶上,它很可能会满足你的使用。

如果您使用的是特别旧或受限的浏览器,或者您不喜欢运行Java脚本,您可以使用*手机*视图,只需在服务器地址后添加``/mobile``即可。

备注

在iOS上,苹果只允许使用一个浏览器引擎,因此Firefox、Chrome和Safari实际上都是同一个浏览器。新的服务器界面需要iOS 10.3.2或更新版本。在安卓系统上,该服务器已通过Chrome 58及更新版本的测试。

启用脱机支持

浏览器制造商一直试图通过禁用浏览器中用于纯HTTP连接的高级功能来迫使人们使用SSL。其中一个受害者是离线支持。因此,您可能需要在服务器上启用HTTPS才能获得脱机支持。此外,在Android上的Firefox中,您需要键入“about:config”,然后搜索“browser.tables.useCache”,并将其切换为“true”。

仅从命令行管理用户帐户

Calibre程序在中有一个很好的分部设计在菜单“首选项”,允许您管理服务器的用户帐户。但是,如果您想运行独立服务器,但无法在同一台计算机/用户帐户上运行calibre主程序,您也可以仅使用命令行管理用户。

您可以使用独立的Calibre服务器程序的“–管理用户”选项来管理用户帐户。假设您希望将用户数据库存储在文件夹“/srv/calbre”中,然后通过运行以下命令来创建它:

calibre-server --userdb /srv/calibre/users.sqlite --manage-users

只需按照提示创建用户帐户、设置他们的权限等。完成后,您可以按以下方式运行服务器:

calibre-server --userdb /srv/calibre/users.sqlite --enable-auth

它将使用您在上一步中创建的用户帐户。

将calibre内容服务器集成到其他服务器中

在这里,我们将向您展示如何将calibre内容服务器集成到另一个服务器中。最常见的原因是使用SSL或将calibre库作为更大网站的一部分提供服务。基本技术是运行calibre服务器,并从主服务器为其设置反向代理。

反向代理是指普通服务器接受传入请求并将其传递到calibre服务器上。然后,它从calibre服务器读取响应并将其转发给客户端。这意味着您可以简单地正常运行calibre服务器,而无需尝试将其与主服务器紧密集成。

使用完整的虚拟主机

最简单的配置是将一个完整的虚拟主机专用于calibre服务器。在这种情况下,将calibre服务器运行为:

calibre-server

现在在主服务器中设置虚拟主机,例如nginx::

http {
    client_max_body_size 64M;  # needed to upload large books
}

server {
    listen [::]:80;
    server_name myserver.example.com;

    location / {
        proxy_pass http://127.0.0.1:8080;
    }
}

或者,对于Apache:

LoadModule proxy_module modules/mod_proxy.so
LoadModule proxy_http_module modules/mod_proxy_http.so

<VirtualHost *:80>
    ServerName myserver.example.com
    AllowEncodedSlashes On
    ProxyPreserveHost On
    ProxyPass "/"  "http://localhost:8080/"
</VirtualHost>

使用URL前缀

如果你不想把一个完整的虚拟主机专用于calibre,你可以让它使用URL前缀。启动calibre服务器,如下所示:

calibre-server --url-prefix /calibre --port 8080

这里的关键参数是“–url前缀/calibre”。这将导致内容服务器为所有前缀为“/calibre”的URL提供服务。要查看此操作,请访问“http://localhost:8080/calibre”在您的浏览器中。您应该可以看到普通的内容服务器网站,但现在它将在“/calibre”下运行。

对于nginx,所需的配置是:

http {
    client_max_body_size 64M;  # needed to upload large books
}

proxy_set_header X-Forwarded-For $remote_addr;
location /calibre/ {
    proxy_buffering off;
    proxy_pass http://127.0.0.1:8080$request_uri;
}
location /calibre {
    # we need a trailing slash for the Application Cache to work
    rewrite /calibre /calibre/ permanent;
}

对于Apache,首先在Apache中启用代理模块,方法是将以下内容添加到文件“httpd.conf”:

LoadModule proxy_module modules/mod_proxy.so
LoadModule proxy_http_module modules/mod_proxy_http.so

启用代理模块的确切技术会因Apache的安装而异。启用代理模块后,将以下规则添加到文件:“httpd.conf”(或者,如果您正在使用虚拟主机,则添加到相关虚拟主机的conf文件中):

AllowEncodedSlashes On
RewriteEngine on
RewriteRule ^/calibre/(.*) http://127.0.0.1:8080/calibre/$1 [proxy]
RedirectMatch permanent ^/calibre$ /calibre/

仅此而已,您现在就可以访问主服务器中“/calibre”URL下的calibre内容服务器。上述规则将“/calibre”下的所有请求传递给运行在端口8080上的calibre服务器,并且由于上面的“–url前缀”选项,calible服务器透明地处理这些请求。

备注

当使用反向代理时,您应该通过使用“–listen on 127.0.0.1”告诉calibre内容服务器只在本地服务器上侦听。这样,服务器将只侦听来自同一台计算机的连接,即来自反向代理的连接。

备注

如果您已经为主服务器设置了SSL,您应该告诉calibre服务器使用基本身份验证,而不是摘要身份验证,因为这会更快。要执行此操作,请将“–auth-mode=basic”选项传递给“calibre服务器”。

在现代Linux系统上为calibre服务器创建服务

You can easily create a service to run calibre at boot on a modern (systemd) based Linux system. Just create the file /etc/systemd/system/calibre-server.service with the contents shown below:

[Unit]
Description=calibre Content server
After=network.target

[Service]
Type=simple
User=mylinuxuser
Group=mylinuxgroup
ExecStart=/opt/calibre/calibre-server "/path/to/calibre library folder"

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target

将“mylinxuser”和“mylinuxgroup”更改为您希望服务器以何种用户和组的身份运行。这应该是拥有calibre书库文件夹中文件的同一用户和组。请注意,以root用户身份运行服务器通常不是一个好主意。同时更改Calibre书库文件夹的路径以适合您的系统。如果需要,可以添加多个库。请参阅“calibre服务器”命令的帮助。

现在运行:

sudo systemctl start calibre-server

来启动服务器。使用以下命令检查其状态:

sudo systemctl status calibre-server

要使其在引导时启动,请运行::

sudo systemctl enable calibre-server

备注

calibre服务器确实不需要运行X服务器,但它确实需要安装X库,因为它使用的某些组件会与它们链接。

备注

calibre服务器还支持systemd套接字激活,因此如果需要,您也可以使用它。

The calibre Content server

The calibre Content server allows you to access your calibre libraries and read books directly in a browser on your favorite mobile phone or tablet device. As a result, you do not need to install any dedicated book reading/management apps on your phone. Just use the browser. The server downloads and stores the book you are reading in an off-line cache so that you can read it even when there is no internet connection.

To start the server, click the Connect/share button and choose Start Content server. You might get a message from your computer’s firewall or anti-virus program asking if it is OK to allow access to calibre.exe. Click the Allow or OK button. Then open a browser (preferably Chrome or Firefox) in your computer and type in the following address:

This will open a page in the browser showing you your calibre libraries, click on any one and browse the books in it. Click on a book, and it will show you all the metadata about the book, along with buttons to Read book and Download book. Click the Read book button to start reading the book.

Note

The address used above http://127.0.0.1:8080 will only work on the computer that is running calibre. To access the server from other computers/phones/tablets/etc. you will need to do a little more work, as described in the next section.

Accessing the Content server from other devices

There are two types of remote device access that you will typically need. The first, simpler kind is from within your home network. If you are running calibre on a computer on your home network and you have also connected your other devices to the same home network, then you should be easily able to access the server on those devices.

Accessing the server from devices on your home network

After starting the server in calibre as described above, click the Connect/share button again. Instead of the Start Content server action, you should see a Stop Content server action instead. To the right of this action will be listed an IP address and port number. These look like a bunch of numbers separated by periods. For example:

Stop Content server [192.168.1.5, port 8080]

These numbers tell you what address to use to connect to the server in your devices. Following the example above, the address becomes:

http://192.168.1.5:8080

The first part of the address is always http:// the next part is the IP address, which is the numbers before the comma and finally we have the port number which must be added to the IP address with a colon (:). If you are lucky, that should be all you need and you will be looking at the calibre libraries on your device. If not, read on.

Trouble-shooting the home network connection

If you are unable to access the server from your device, try the following steps:

  1. Check that the server is running by opening the address http://127.0.0.1:8080 in a browser running on the same computer as the server.
  2. Check that your firewall/anti-virus is allowing connections to your computer on the port 8080 and to the calibre program. The easiest way to eliminate the firewall/anti-virus as the source of problems is to temporarily turn them both off and then try connecting. You should first disconnect from the internet, before turning off the firewall, to keep your computer safe.
  3. Check that your device and computer are on the same network. This means they should both be connected to the same wireless router. In particular neither should be using a cellular or ISP provided direct-WiFi connection.
  4. If you have non-standard networking setup, it might be that the IP address shown on the Connect/share menu is incorrect. In such a case you will have to figure out what the correct IP address to use is, yourself. Unfortunately, given the infinite diversity of network configurations possible, it is not possible to give you a roadmap for doing so.
  5. If you are stuck, you can always ask for help in the calibre user forums.

Accessing the server from anywhere on the internet

Warning

Before doing this you should turn on username/password protection in the server, otherwise anyone in the world will be able to access your books. Go to Preferences → Sharing → Sharing over the net and enable the option to Require username and password to access the content server.

While the particular details on setting up internet access vary depending on the network configuration and type of computer you are using, the basic schema is as follows.

  1. Find out the external IP address of the computer you are going to run the server on. You can do that by visiting the site What is my IP address in a browser running on the computer.
  2. If the computer is behind a router, enable port forwarding on the router to forward the port 8080 (or whatever port you choose to run the calibre Content server on) to the computer.
  3. Make sure the calibre server is allowed through any firewalls/anti-virus programs on your computer.
  4. Now you should be able to access the server on any internet-connected device using the IP address you found in the first step. For example, if the IP address you found was 123.123.123.123 and the port you are using for the calibre server is 8080, the address to use on your device becomes: http://123.123.123.123:8080.
  5. Optionally, use a service like no-ip to setup an easy to remember address to use instead of the IP address you found in the first step.

Note

For maximum security, you should also enable HTTPS on the content server. You can either do so directly in the server by providing the path to the HTTPS certificate to use in the advanced configuration options for the server, or you can setup a reverse proxy as described below, to use an existing HTTPS setup.

The server interface

The server interface is a simplified version of the main calibre interface, optimised for use with touch screens. The home screen shows you books you are currently reading as well as allowing to choose a calibre library you want to browse. The server in calibre 3 gives you access to all your libraries, not just a single one, as before.

The book list

The server book list is a simple grid of covers. Tap on a cover to see the detailed metadata for a book, or to read the book. If you prefer a more detailed list, you can change the default view by clicking the three vertical dots in the top right corner.

Sorting and searching of the book list should be familiar to calibre users. They can be accessed by clicking their icons in the top right area. They both work exactly the same as in the main calibre program. The search page even allows you to construct search queries by clicking on authors/tags/etc., just as you can using the Tag browser in the main program.

A much loved feature of the main program, Virtual libraries is present in the server interface as well. Click the three vertical dots in the top right corner to choose a virtual library.

The book reader

You can read any book in your calibre library by simply tapping on it and then tapping the Read book button. The books reader is very simple to operate. You can both tap and swipe to turn pages. Swiping up/down skips between chapters. Tapping the top quarter of the screen gets you the detailed controls and viewer preferences.

If you leave the Content server running, you can even open the same book on multiple devices and it will remember your last read position. If it does not you can force a sync by tapping in the top quarter and choosing Sync.

Note

On initial release, the book reader is fully functional but is missing some more advanced features from the main calibre viewer, such as popup footnotes, bookmarks and annotations in general. These will be added in due course. In fact, the browser reader is designed to eventually replace the main viewer, once it matures.

Browser support

The new calibre server makes lots of use of advanced HTML 5 and CSS 3 features. As such it requires an up-to-date browser to use. It has been tested on Android Chrome and iOS Safari as well as Chrome and Firefox on the desktop. It is known not to work with Internet Explorer and Microsoft Edge (hopefully Edge will start working when Microsoft gets around to implementing a few missing standards).

The server is careful to use functionality that has either been already standardised or is on the standards track. As such if it does not currently work with your favorite browser, it probably will once that browser has caught up.

If you are using a particular old or limited browser or you don’t like to run JavaScript, you can use the mobile view, by simply adding /mobile to the the server address.

Note

On iOS, Apple allows only a single browser engine, so Firefox, Chrome and Safari are all actually the same browser under the hood. The new server interface requires iOS 10.3.2 or newer. On Android, the server has been tested with Chrome version 58 and newer.

Managing user accounts from the command-line only

The calibre program has a nice section in Preferences to allow you to manage user accounts for the server. However, if you want to run the standalone server and cannot run the main calibre program on the same computer/user account, you can also manage users using just the command-line.

You can manage user accounts using the --manage-users option to the standalone calibre-server program. Suppose you want to store the user database in the directory /srv/calibre, then you create it by running:

calibre-server --userdb /srv/calibre/users.sqlite --manage-users

Just follow the prompts to create user accounts, set their permission, etc. Once you are done, you can run the server as:

calibre-server --userdb /srv/calibre/users.sqlite --enable-auth

It will use the user accounts you created in the previous step.

Integrating the calibre Content server into other servers

Here, we will show you how to integrate the calibre Content server into another server. The most common reason for this is to make use of SSL or to serve the calibre library as part of a larger site. The basic technique is to run the calibre server and setup a reverse proxy to it from the main server.

A reverse proxy is when your normal server accepts incoming requests and passes them onto the calibre server. It then reads the response from the calibre server and forwards it to the client. This means that you can simply run the calibre server as normal without trying to integrate it closely with your main server.

Using a full virtual host

The simplest configuration is to dedicate a full virtual host to the calibre server. In this case, run the calibre server as:

calibre-server

Now setup the virtual host in your main server, for example, for nginx:

server {
    listen [::]:80;
    server_name myserver.example.com;

    location / {
        proxy_pass http://127.0.0.1:8080;
    }
}

Or, for Apache:

LoadModule proxy_module modules/mod_proxy.so
LoadModule proxy_http_module modules/mod_proxy_http.so

<VirtualHost *:80>
    ServerName myserver.example.com
    AllowEncodedSlashes On
    ProxyPreserveHost On
    ProxyPass "/"  "http://localhost:8080"
</VirtualHost>

Using a URL prefix

If you do not want to dedicate a full virtual host to calibre, you can have it use a URL prefix. Start the calibre server as:

calibre-server --url-prefix /calibre --port 8080

The key parameter here is --url-prefix /calibre. This causes the Content server to serve all URLs prefixed by /calibre. To see this in action, visit http://localhost:8080/calibre in your browser. You should see the normal Content server website, but now it will run under /calibre.

With nginx, the required configuration is:

proxy_set_header X-Forwarded-For $remote_addr;
location /calibre/ {
    proxy_buffering off;
    proxy_pass http://127.0.0.1:8080$request_uri;
}
location /calibre {
    # we need a trailing slash for the Application Cache to work
    rewrite /calibre /calibre/ permanent;
}

For Apache, first enable the proxy modules in Apache, by adding the following to httpd.conf:

LoadModule proxy_module modules/mod_proxy.so
LoadModule proxy_http_module modules/mod_proxy_http.so

The exact technique for enabling the proxy modules will vary depending on your Apache installation. Once you have the proxy modules enabled, add the following rules to httpd.conf (or if you are using virtual hosts to the conf file for the virtual host in question):

AllowEncodedSlashes On
RewriteEngine on
RewriteRule ^/calibre/(.*) http://127.0.0.1:8080/calibre/$1 [proxy]
RedirectMatch permanent ^/calibre$ /calibre/

That’s all, you will now be able to access the calibre Content server under the /calibre URL in your main server. The above rules pass all requests under /calibre to the calibre server running on port 8080 and thanks to the --url-prefix option above, the calibre server handles them transparently.

Note

When using a reverse proxy, you should tell the calibre Content server to only listen on localhost, by using --listen-on 127.0.0.1. That way, the server will only listen for connections coming from the same computer, i.e. from the reverse proxy.

Note

If you have setup SSL for your main server, you should tell the calibre server to use basic authentication instead of digest authentication, as it is faster. To do so, pass the --auth-mode=basic option to calibre-server.

Creating a service for the calibre server on a modern Linux system

You can easily create a service to run calibre at boot on a modern (systemd) based Linux system. Just create the file /etc/systemd/system/calibre-server.service with the contents shown below:

[Unit]
Description=calibre content server
After=network.target

[Service]
Type=simple
User=mylinuxuser
Group=mylinuxgroup
ExecStart=/opt/calibre/calibre-server "/path/to/calibre library directory"

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target

Change mylinuxuser and mylinuxgroup to whatever user and group you want the server to run as. This should be the same user and group that own the files in the calibre library directory. Note that it is generally not a good idea to run the server as root. Also change the path to the calibre library directory to suit your system. You can add multiple libraries if needed. See the help for the calibre-server command.

Now run:

sudo systemctl start calibre-server

to start the server. Check its status with:

sudo systemctl status calibre-server

To make it start at boot, run:

sudo systemctl enable calibre-server

Note

The calibre server does not need a running X server, but it does need the X libraries installed as some components it uses link against them.

Note

The calibre server also supports systemd socket activation, so you can use that, if needed, as well.