管理图书的子组,例如“体裁”

有些人希望把书库里的书组织成子组,类似于子文件夹。最常见的原因是创建体裁层次结构,但还有许多其他原因。一位用户要求找到一种按学科和课程编号组织教科书的方法。另一个则希望根据礼物的主题和接收者来追踪礼物。本教程将在本文的其余部分使用流派示例。

在继续之前,请注意我们不是在谈论硬盘上的文件夹。子组不是文件文件夹。任何地方都不会复制书籍。calibre的书库文件结构不受影响。相反,我们提供了一种在一个calibre书库中组织和显示图书子组的方法。

通常提供的对子组例如体裁的要求是:

  • 子组(例如,体裁)必须包含(指向)图书,而不是图书类别。这就是将子组与Calibre用户类别区分开来的原因。

  • 一本书可以分成多个子组(体裁)。这将子组与物理文件夹区分开来。

  • 子组(体裁)必须形成层次结构;子组可以包含子组。

标签给出了前两个。如果你给一本书贴上这种类型的标签,那么你可以使用标签浏览器(或搜索)来查找这种类型的书,这样你就可以得到第一类。许多书可以有相同的类型标签,为您提供第二类标签。问题是标签不满足第三个要求。它们不提供层次结构。

|sgtree | |体裁树搜索|calibre分级特性为您提供了第三种功能,即在“树”中查看体裁,并能够轻松地搜索体裁或子类型的书籍。例如,假设你的体裁结构与以下类似:

Genre
    . History
    .. Japanese
    .. Military
    .. Roman
    . Mysteries
    .. English
    .. Vampire
    . Science Fiction
    .. Alternate History
    .. Military
    .. Space Opera
    . Thrillers
    .. Crime
    .. Horror
    etc.

通过使用分级结构功能,您可以在“标签浏览器”中以树的形式查看这些流派,如屏幕图像所示。在本例中,最外层(体裁)是包含体裁的自定义列。包含子体裁的体裁旁边会出现一个小三角形。点击那个三角形将打开项目并显示子体裁,就像你在历史和科幻小说中看到的那样。

点击一个体裁可以搜索到该体裁的所有书籍或该体裁的子类。例如,点击“科幻小说”可以提供所有三种儿童体裁,“架空历史”,“军事”和“太空歌剧”。点击“架空历史”将给出这种体裁的书,忽略那些军事和太空歌剧体裁。当然,一本书可以有多种体裁。如果一本书同时有太空歌剧和军事流派,那么只要你点击其中一种,你就会看到那本书。下面将更详细地讨论搜索。

从图片中可以看到的另一件事是,军事这一体裁出现了两次,一次出现在历史下面,一次出现在科幻下面。因为体裁是分层次的,所以这是两个独立的体裁。一本书可以在其中一种中,也可以在另一种中,或者(在这种情况下是怀疑的)两者兼而有之。例如,温斯顿·丘吉尔(Winston Churchill)的“第二次世界大战”(The Second World War)中的书可以放在“历史·军事”(History ory.Military)一体裁中。大卫·韦伯的“荣誉哈林顿”的书可能会出现在“科幻小说.军事”中,就这一点而言,也可能出现在“科幻小说.太空歌剧”(Science Fiction.Space Opera)中。

一旦存在一种体裁,即至少有一本书具有该体裁,您可以很容易地将其应用于其他图书,方法是将这些图书从书库视图拖到您希望这些图书具有的体裁上。您还可以在元数据编辑器中应用体裁;下面将详细介绍这一点。

配置

现在,您的问题可能是“所有这些设置是如何的?”有三个步骤:1)创建自定义列,2)告诉Calibre新的列将被视为一个层次结构,以及3)添加体裁。

您可以使用“首选项->添加你自己的列”以通常的方式创建自定义列。本例使用“#体裁”作为查找名称,使用“体裁”作为列标题。列类型是“逗号分隔的文本,就像标签浏览器中显示的标签一样。”

_images/sg_cc.jpg

然后,在重新启动Calibre之后,您必须告诉Calibre该列将被视为层次结构。进入“首选项->外观->标签浏览器”,在“具有层次结构的分类”框中输入查找名称“#体裁”。按“应用”,设置完毕。

_images/sg_pref.png

在这一点上,列中没有流派。我们只剩下最后一步:如何将一种体裁应用于一本书。一种体裁只有在至少一本书上出现时,它才能在calibre上存在。要第一次学习如何应用一种体裁,我们必须详细了解一本书的元数据中的体裁是什么样子。

“事物”的层次结构是通过创建一个由句点分隔的短语组成的项来构建的。继续体裁示例,这些项目将“历史.军事”, “神秘.吸血鬼“,”科幻.太空歌剧”等等。因此,要创建新体裁,请选择一本应该具有该体裁的书,编辑其元数据,并将新体裁输入到您创建的列中。如果你想给一本书分配一个新的体裁“漫画”和一个子体裁“超级英雄”,你需要为那本(漫画)书“编辑元数据”,选择“自定义元数据”选项卡,然后输入“漫画。超级英雄“如下所示(忽略其他自定义列):

_images/sg_genre.jpg

完成上述操作后,您将在“标签浏览器”中看到:

_images/sg_tb.jpg

从现在开始,要将这一新体裁应用于一本书(假设是漫画书),您可以将书拖到该体裁上,或者使用编辑元数据将其添加到书中,方法与上面完全相同。

备注

仅当标签浏览器设置为按名称对项目排序时,分层显示才有效。这是默认设置,单击”标签浏览器”底部的“设置”按钮即可查看。

搜索

_images/sg_search.jpg

最简单的搜索体裁的方法是使用”标签浏览器”,点击你想看到的体裁。点击一个有儿童的体裁,你会看到有这个体裁和所有儿童体裁的书。然而,这可能会带来一个问题。仅仅因为一个体裁有孩子并不意味着它本身就不是一个体裁。例如,一本书的体裁可以是“历史”,但不是”历史.军事”. 你如何搜索只有“历史”体裁的书?

“标签浏览器”搜索机制知道项是否有子项。如果是这样,单击该项将循环进行5次搜索,而不是常规的三次搜索。第一种是普通的绿色加号,它只向你展示那种体裁的书(例如历史)。第二个是双倍加号(如上图所示),它向您展示具有该类型和所有子类型(例如,历史和历史.军事). 第三种是正常的红色减号,它显示的是没有那种类型的书。第四个是一个双倍减号,它显示的是没有这种类型或子类型的书。第五个是回到开始,没有标记,意味着没有搜索。

限制

如果您搜索某一体裁,然后为其创建保存的搜索,您可以使用“限制为”框来创建具有该体裁图书的“虚拟书库”。如果要在该体裁内进行其他搜索或管理/更新该体裁图书的元数据,这将非常有用。继续我们的示例,您可以创建名为‘历史.日本’的已保存搜索,方法是:首先单击“标记浏览器”中的”日本历史”体裁,将搜索放入搜索字段,在已保存搜索字段中输入历史.日本,然后按下“保存搜索”按钮(右侧带有白色加号的绿色框)。

_images/sg_restrict.jpg

创建保存的搜索后,您可以将其用作限制。

_images/sg_restrict2.jpg

有用的模板函数

您可能需要在模板中使用体裁信息,例如“保存到磁盘”或“发送到设备”。接下来的问题可能是“如何获得最外层的体裁名称?”提供了一个calibre模板函数subitems来简化这一过程。

例如,假设您要将最外层的体裁级别添加到“保存到磁盘”模板中,以创建流派文件夹,如“历史/聚集风暴-丘吉尔,温斯顿”中所示。为此,您必须提取层次结构的第一级,并将其与斜线一起添加到前面,以指示它应该成为一个文件夹。下面的模板实现了这一点:

{#genre:subitems(0,1)||/}{title} - {authors}

有关模板和“subitems”函数的更多信息,请参阅:“模板语言<templatelangcalibre>”。

Managing subgroups of books, for example “genre”

Some people wish to organize the books in their library into subgroups, similar to subfolders. The most commonly provided reason is to create genre hierarchies, but there are many others. One user asked for a way to organize textbooks by subject and course number. Another wanted to keep track of gifts by subject and recipient. This tutorial will use the genre example for the rest of this post.

Before going on, please note that we are not talking about folders on the hard disk. Subgroups are not file folders. Books will not be copied anywhere. Calibre’s library file structure is not affected. Instead, we are presenting a way to organize and display subgroups of books within a calibre library.

The commonly-provided requirements for subgroups such as genres are:

  • A subgroup (e.g., a genre) must contain (point to) books, not categories of books. This is what distinguishes subgroups from calibre user categories.
  • A book can be in multiple subgroups (genres). This distinguishes subgroups from physical file folders.
  • Subgroups (genres) must form a hierarchy; subgroups can contain subgroups.

Tags give you the first two. If you tag a book with the genre then you can use the tag browser (or search) for find the books with that genre, giving you the first. Many books can have the same tag(s), giving you the second. The problem is that tags don’t satisfy the third requirement. They don’t provide a hierarchy.

sgtree Calibre’s hierarchy feature gives you the third, the ability to see the genres in a ‘tree’ and the ability to easily search for books in genre or sub-genre. For example, assume that your genre structure is similar to the following:

Genre
    . History
    .. Japanese
    .. Military
    .. Roman
    . Mysteries
    .. English
    .. Vampire
    . Science Fiction
    .. Alternate History
    .. Military
    .. Space Opera
    . Thrillers
    .. Crime
    .. Horror
    etc.

By using the hierarchy feature, you can see these genres in the tag browser in tree form, as shown in the screen image. In this example the outermost level (Genre) is a custom column that contains the genres. Genres containing sub-genres appear with a small triangle next to them. Clicking on that triangle will open the item and show the sub-genres, as you can see with History and Science Fiction.

Clicking on a genre can search for all books with that genre or children of that genre. For example, clicking on Science Fiction can give all three of the child genres, Alternate History, Military, and Space Opera. Clicking on Alternate History will give books in that genre, ignoring those in Military and Space Opera. Of course, a book can have multiple genres. If a book has both Space Opera and Military genres, then you will see that book if you click on either genre. Searching is discussed in more detail below.

Another thing you can see from the image is that the genre Military appears twice, once under History and once under Science Fiction. Because the genres are in a hierarchy, these are two separate genres. A book can be in one, the other, or (doubtfully in this case) both. For example, the books in Winston Churchill’s “The Second World War” could be in “History.Military”. David Weber’s Honor Harrington books could be in “Science Fiction.Military”, and for that matter also in “Science Fiction.Space Opera.”

Once a genre exists, that is at least one book has that genre, you can easily apply it to other books by dragging the books from the library view onto the genre you want the books to have. You can also apply genres in the metadata editors; more on this below.

Setup

By now, your question might be “How was all of this up?” There are three steps: 1) create the custom column, 2) tell calibre that the new column is to be treated as a hierarchy, and 3) add genres.

You create the custom column in the usual way, using Preferences -> Add your own columns. This example uses “#genre” as the lookup name and “Genre” as the column heading. The column type is “Comma-separated text, like tags, shown in the tag browser.”

_images/sg_cc.jpg

Then after restarting calibre, you must tell calibre that the column is to be treated as a hierarchy. Go to Preferences -> Look and Feel -> Tag Browser and enter the lookup name “#genre” into the “Categories with hierarchical items” box. Press Apply, and you are done with setting up.

_images/sg_pref.png

At the point there are no genres in the column. We are left with the last step: how to apply a genre to a book. A genre does not exist in calibre until it appears on at least one book. To learn how to apply a genre for the first time, we must go into some detail about what a genre looks like in the metadata for a book.

A hierarchy of ‘things’ is built by creating an item consisting of phrases separated by periods. Continuing the genre example, these items would “History.Military”, “Mysteries.Vampire”, “Science Fiction.Space Opera”, etc. Thus to create a new genre, you pick a book that should have that genre, edit its metadata, and enter the new genre into the column you created. Continuing our example, if you want to assign a new genre “Comics” with a sub-genre “Superheroes” to a book, you would ‘edit metadata’ for that (comic) book, choose the Custom metadata tab, and then enter “Comics.Superheroes” as shown in the following (ignore the other custom columns):

_images/sg_genre.jpg

After doing the above, you see in the tag browser:

_images/sg_tb.jpg

From here on, to apply this new genre to a book (a comic book, presumably), you can either drag the book onto the genre, or add it to the book using edit metadata in exactly the same way as done above.

Searching

_images/sg_search.jpg

The easiest way to search for genres is using the tag browser, clicking on the genre you wish to see. Clicking on a genre with children will show you books with that genre and all child genres. However, this might bring up a question. Just because a genre has children doesn’t mean that it isn’t a genre in its own right. For example, a book can have the genre “History” but not “History.Military”. How do you search for books with only “History”?

The tag browser search mechanism knows if an item has children. If it does, clicking on the item cycles through 5 searches instead of the normal three. The first is the normal green plus, which shows you books with that genre only (e.g., History). The second is a doubled plus (shown above), which shows you books with that genre and all sub-genres (e.g., History and History.Military). The third is the normal red minus, which shows you books without that exact genre. The fourth is a doubled minus, which shows you books without that genre or sub-genres. The fifth is back to the beginning, no mark, meaning no search.

Restrictions

If you search for a genre then create a saved search for it, you can use the ‘restrict to’ box to create a virtual library of books with that genre. This is useful if you want to do other searches within the genre or to manage/update metadata for books in the genre. Continuing our example, you can create a saved search named ‘History.Japanese’ by first clicking on the genre Japanese in the tag browser to get a search into the search box, entering History.Japanese into the saved search box, then pushing the “save search” button (the green box with the white plus, on the right-hand side).

_images/sg_restrict.jpg

After creating the saved search, you can use it as a restriction.

_images/sg_restrict2.jpg

Useful Template Functions

You might want to use the genre information in a template, such as with save to disk or send to device. The question might then be “How do I get the outermost genre name or names?” A calibre template function, subitems, is provided to make doing this easier.

For example, assume you want to add the outermost genre level to the save-to-disk template to make genre folders, as in “History/The Gathering Storm - Churchill, Winston”. To do this, you must extract the first level of the hierarchy and add it to the front along with a slash to indicate that it should make a folder. The template below accomplishes this:

{#genre:subitems(0,1)||/}{title} - {authors}

See The template language for more information about templates and the subitems() function.


Table Of Contents

Previous topic

API Documentation for recipes

Next topic

XPath Tutorial

This Page