编辑电子书元数据

电子书存在各种不同的类型和大小,往往他们的元数据是不完整或者不正确的,如标题、作者、序列表、出版商之类的信息。在 calibre 中最简单修改元数据的方式是在对应的元数据条目上双击修改,调整为正确的值。如果是更复杂的编辑,可以使用下文中讨论的元数据工具来达到实现 “增强编辑”

编辑一本书的元数据

选中你想要编辑的书籍,点击编辑元数据按钮或者按下字母 E。会打开一个对话框,允许你编辑各类的元数据信息。对话框有很多功能允许你快速有效率的编辑,下面有一些经常使用的实用技巧:

  • 你可以点击在标题和作者中间的按钮来自动互换它俩的值

  • 你可以通过点击按作者排序边上的按钮来让 calibre 自动填充排序好的值。使用 :guilable: 管理作者 对话框可以列出及变更按作者排序的值。这个对话框也可以通过点击并长按作者排序边上的按钮

  • 你可以点击标签编辑边上的标签管理按钮来管理所有和这本书相关的标签

  • “ids” 框可以用来输入 ISBN(获取其他类型的 id),如果输入了无效的 ISBN,背景色会变成红色。如果是有效的 ISBN ,背景色会变成绿色

  • 如果按作者排序的值和 calibre 计算出来的值不一致,按作者排序的框会变成红色

下载元数据

编辑元数据对话框最好的功能是它能够通过从各种网站获取元数据来自动填充许多元数据字段。目前,Calibre使用isbndb.com、Google Books、Amazon和Library Thing。元数据下载可以为您填写标题、作者、系列、标签、评级、描述和ISBN。

要使用下载,请填写标题和作者字段,然后单击:guilabel:`提取元数据`按钮。Calibre将为您提供与书名和作者最匹配的图书列表。如果您首先填写ISBN字段,它将优先于标题和作者使用。如果找不到匹配项,请尝试通过在标题中仅包含一些关键字和仅包含作者姓氏来使您的搜索不那么具体。

管理书籍格式

在Calibre中,单个图书条目可以有许多不同的*格式*与其关联。例如,您可能获得了EPUB格式的莎士比亚全集,然后将其转换为MOBI在您的Kindle上阅读。Calibre自动为您管理多种格式。在编辑元数据对话框的:guilabel:`可用格式`部分中,您可以管理这些格式。您可以添加新格式、删除现有格式,还可以要求Calibre从其中一种格式的元数据中设置图书条目的元数据和封面。

有关封面

你可以让Calibre为你下载书籍封面,前提是这本书有一个已知的ISBN。或者,您可以指定计算机上的一个文件作为封面。Calibre甚至可以为你生成一个带有基本元数据的默认封面。您可以将图像拖放到封面上进行更改,也可以右键单击以复制/粘贴封面图像。

此外,还有一个按钮可以自动从封面上裁剪边框,以防封面图像的边框很不美观。

同时编辑多本书的元数据

首先,通过按住Ctrl或Shift键并单击来选择要编辑的书籍。如果您选择了多本图书,点击:guilabel:`编辑元数据`按钮将会打开一个新的*批量*元数据编辑对话框。使用此对话框可以快速将一组图书的作者/出版商/评级/标签/系列等设置为相同的值。如果您刚刚导入了许多具有某些共同元数据的图书,则此功能尤其有用。此对话框非常强大,例如,它有一个搜索和替换选项卡,您可以使用该选项卡对元数据执行批量操作,甚至将元数据从一列复制到另一列。

普通的编辑元数据对话框会有下一个和上一个按钮,你可以通过这两个按钮逐次编辑多本书的元数据

搜索与替换

guilabel:批量元数据编辑`对话框允许您对所选图书执行任意强大的搜索和替换操作。默认情况下,它使用简单的文本搜索和替换,但也支持*正则表达式*。有关正则表达式的详细信息,请参阅:ref:`正则表达式指南

如上所述,有两种搜索和替换模式:字符匹配和正则表达式。字符匹配将在您选择的`搜索字段`中查找您在`搜索‘框中键入的字符,并将这些字符替换为您在`替换为’框中键入的字符。该字段中每次出现的搜索字符都将被替换。例如,假设要搜索的字段包含`一个坏猫`。如果搜索`a`替换为`HELLO`,则结果为`hello bHELLOd cHELLOt`。

如果您正在搜索的字段是类似于标记的“多个”字段,则每个标记都会被单独处理。例如,如果您的标签包含`Horror,Scary`,则搜索表达式`r,将不会匹配任何内容,因为该表达式会先应用于`Horror,然后应用于`Scary`。

如果您希望搜索忽略大小写差异,请取消选中`区分大小写`框。

您可以通过从`替换后应用函数‘框中选择一个函数,让Calibre更改结果的大小写(替换发生后的信息)。可用的操作包括:

  • 小写–将字段中的所有字符都改为小写

  • 大写–将字段中的所有字符都改为大写

  • `标题大写‘–将结果中的每个单词大写。

您可以在`您的测试`框中输入文本,以检查搜索/替换是否正在执行您想要的操作。在大多数情况下,书籍测试箱就足够了,但可能有一个您想要检查的案例没有显示在这些框中。将该案例输入到`您的测试`中。

正则表达式模式与字符模式有一些不同,除了(当然)使用正则表达式之外。首先,函数应用于与搜索字符串匹配的字符串部分,而不是整个字段。第二个是函数应用于替换字符串,而不是整个字段。

第三,也是最重要的一点是,替换字符串可以通过使用反向引用来引用部分搜索字符串。反向引用是``\n``,其中n是引用搜索表达式中第n个带括号的组的整数。例如,给出与上面相同的示例,一只坏猫,一个搜索表达式`a(.)(.)`,一个替换表达式`a\2\1`,结果将是`一只猫坏`。有关反向引用的更多信息,请参阅:ref:正则表达式学习指南

一个有用的模式是:假设您想要更改整个字段的大小写。要做到这一点,最简单的方法是使用字符模式,但让我们进一步假设您想要使用正则表达式模式。搜索表达式应为`(.*)`,替换表达式应为`\1`,并选择所需的大小写转换函数。

最后,在正则表达式模式下,您可以将值从一个字段复制到另一个字段。只需使源字段和目标字段不同即可。副本可以替换目标字段、添加到字段的前缀(添加到前面)或附加到字段(添加到末尾)。“使用逗号”复选框告知Calibre在预加和追加模式下在文本和目标字段之间添加逗号(或不加)。如果目的地是多个(例如,标签),则不能取消选中此框。

搜索和替换是在应用其他选项卡中的所有其他元数据更改后完成的。这可能会导致一些混淆,因为测试框会在其他更改之前显示信息,但操作将在其他更改之后应用。如果您对将要发生的事情有任何疑问,请不要将搜索/替换与其他更改混为一谈。

批量下载元数据

如果你想同时下载多本书的元数据,右键点击编辑元数据按钮,选择下载元数据按钮。你可以选择只下载元数据,只下载封面,或者两者都下载

Editing Ebook Metadata

Ebooks come in all shapes and sizes and more often than not, their metadata (things like title/author/series/publisher) is incomplete or incorrect. The simplest way to change metadata in calibre is to simply double click on an entry and type in the correct replacement. For more sophisticated, “power editing” use the edit metadata tools discussed below.

Editing the metadata of one book at a time

Click the book you want to edit and then click the Edit metadata button or press the E key. A dialog opens that allows you to edit all aspects of the metadata. It has various features to make editing faster and more efficient. A list of the commonly used tips:

  • You can click the button in between title and authors to swap them automatically.
  • You can click the button next to author sort to have calibre automatically fill it in using the sort values stored with each author. Use the Manage authors dialog to see and change the authors’ sort values. This dialog can be opened by clicking and holding the button next to author sort.
  • You can click the button next to tags to use the Tag Editor to manage the tags associated with the book.
  • The ISBN box will have a red background if you enter an invalid ISBN. It will be green for valid ISBNs
  • The author sort box will be red if the author sort value differs from what calibre thinks it should be.

Downloading metadata

The nicest feature of the edit metadata dialog is its ability to automatically fill in many metadata fields by getting metadata from various websites. Currently, calibre uses isbndb.com, Google Books, Amazon and Library Thing. The metadata download can fill in Title, author, series, tags, rating, description and ISBN for you.

To use the download, fill in the title and author fields and click the Fetch metadata button. calibre will present you with a list of books that most closely match the title and author. If you fill in the ISBN field first, it will be used in preference to the title and author. If no matches are found, try making your search a little less specific by including only some key words in the title and only the author last name.

Managing book formats

In calibre, a single book entry can have many different formats associated with it. For example you may have obtained the Complete Works of Shakespeare in EPUB format and later converted it to MOBI to read on your Kindle. calibre automatically manages multiple formats for you. In the Available formats section of the Edit metadata dialog, you can manage these formats. You can add a new format, delete an existing format and also ask calibre to set the metadata and cover for the book entry from the metadata in one of the formats.

All about covers

You can ask calibre to download book covers for you, provided the book has a known ISBN. Alternatively you can specify a file on your computer to use as the cover. calibre can even generate a default cover with basic metadata on it for you. You can drag and drop images onto the cover to change it and also right click to copy/paste cover images.

In addition, there is a button to automatically trim borders from the cover, in case your cover image has an ugly border.

Editing the metadata of many books at a time

First select the books you want to edit by holding Ctrl or Shift and clicking on them. If you select more than one book, clicking the Edit metadata button will cause a new Bulk metadata edit dialog to open. Using this dialog, you can quickly set the author/publisher/rating/tags/series etc of a bunch of books to the same value. This is particularly useful if you have just imported a number of books that have some metadata in common. This dialog is very powerful, for example, it has a Search and Replace tab that you can use to perform bulk operations on metadata and even copy metadata from one column to another.

The normal edit metadata dialog also has Next and Previous buttons that you can use to edit the metadata of several books one after the other.

Search and replace

The Bulk metadata edit dialog allows you to perform arbitrarily powerful search and replace operations on the selected books. By default it uses a simple text search and replace, but it also support regular expressions. For more on regular expressions, see All about using regular expressions in calibre.

As noted above, there are two search and replace modes: character match and regular expression. Character match will look in the Search field you choose for the characters you type in the search for box and replace those characters with what you type in the replace with box. Each occurance of the search characters in the field will be replaced. For example, assume the field being searched contains a bad cat. if you search for a to be replaced with HELLO, then the result will be HELLO bHELLOd cHELLOt.

If the field you are searching on is a multiple field like tags, then each tag is treated separately. For example, if your tags contain Horror, Scary, the search expression r, will not match anything because the expression will first be applied to Horror and then to Scary.

If you want the search to ignore upper/lowercase differences, uncheck the Case sensitive box.

You can have calibre change the case of the result (information after the replace has happened) by choosing one of the functions from the Apply function after replace box. The operations available are:

  • Lower case – change all the characters in the field to lower case
  • Upper case – change all the characters in the field to upper case
  • Title case – capitalize each word in the result.

The Your test box is provided for you to enter text to check that search/replace is doing what you want. In the majority of cases the book test boxes will be sufficient, but it is possible that there is a case you want to check that isn’t shown in these boxes. Enter that case into Your test.

Regular expression mode has some differences from character mode, beyond (of course) using regular expressions. The first is that functions are applied to the parts of the string matched by the search string, not the entire field. The second is that functions apply to the replacement string, not to the entire field.

The third and most important is that the replace string can make reference to parts of the search string by using backreferences. A backreference is \\n where n is an integer that refers to the n’th parenthesized group in the search expression. For example, given the same example as above, a bad cat, a search expression a (...) (...), and a replace expression a \2 \1, the result will be a cat bad. Please see the All about using regular expressions in calibre for more information on backreferences.

One useful pattern: assume you want to change the case of an entire field. The easiest way to do this is to use character mode, but lets further assume you want to use regular expression mode. The search expression should be (.*) the replace expression should be \1, and the desired case change function should be selected.

Finally, in regular expression mode you can copy values from one field to another. Simply make the source and destination field different. The copy can replace the destination field, prepend to the field (add to the front), or append to the field (add at the end). The ‘use comma’ checkbox tells calibre to (or not to) add a comma between the text and the destination field in prepend and append modes. If the destination is multiple (e.g., tags), then you cannot uncheck this box.

Search and replace is done after all the other metadata changes in the other tabs are applied. This can lead to some confusion, because the test boxes will show the information before the other changes, but the operation will be applied after the other changes. If you have any doubts about what is going to happen, do not mix search/replace with other changes.

Bulk downloading of metadata

If you want to download the metadata for multiple books at once, right-click the Edit metadata button and select Download metadata. You can choose to download only metadata, only covers, or both.